📋 Verified from: Moneysmart (ASIC) — TPD insurance, Moneysmart — income protection insurance, and the RACGP guide to writing medical reports, checked 2026-08-29. This page is practical, general information to help you navigate these requests — not official, medical, legal or insurance advice, and not a RACGP or insurer-endorsed procedure. Every policy has its own definitions and its own form; always work from the specific insurer's request, and use your own professional judgement for the case in front of you, not this page.
⚠️ The one thing worth reading before anything else: a TPD or income-protection form will often ask something that sounds clinical but is actually a legal/policy question — e.g. "is the patient totally and permanently unable to work in any occupation for which they are reasonably suited?" That's a test defined by the policy wording, applied by the insurer's assessor, not a diagnosis. The RACGP's own guidance is to limit your opinion to your scope of expertise — answer the factual clinical questions (diagnosis, treatment, observed/reported function, prognosis) and, where a question asks you to apply the policy's legal test, it's reasonable to say so rather than guess at what the insurer means by it.

The two products, in brief

TPD (Total and Permanent Disability) pays a one-off lump sum if illness or injury leaves someone permanently unable to work. It can be held inside superannuation (cheaper, but a payout may be taxed up to 22% if the patient is under 60) or outside super (more expensive, but usually the only way to get the more generous "own occupation" definition).

Own occupation

Can't work in their previous specific job. More generous to the patient, more expensive, usually only available outside super.

Any occupation

Can't work in any job "suited to their education, training or experience" — not just their old one. Cheaper, stricter to satisfy.

Activities of daily living

Can't independently perform basic self-care tasks. The highest bar of the three.

Income protection is different in shape: it replaces an ongoing 75–90% of pre-tax income (based on the prior 12 months' earnings) rather than paying a lump sum, after a waiting period (commonly 14 days to 2 years) and for a benefit period (commonly 2 or 5 years, or to a set age such as 65). Each policy sets its own definition of "disabled" for this purpose — there is no single Australia-wide standard.

Practical tips: what's actually being asked of you

Usually a factual clinical picture, not a verdict

General pointers only — every insurer's questions differ, so read the actual form before you start.

1.The diagnosis and the date it was first noted or became disabling. 2.The treatment tried so far and how the patient has responded to it. 3.The current functional limitations you've observed or the patient has reported — what they can and can't do, not a legal conclusion about "totally and permanently." 4.A prognosis or expected timeframe for review, where one can reasonably be given.
⚠️ Where it's fine to draw a line

If a form's question is really asking you to apply the policy's own definition of "total and permanent" or "any occupation" — a legal/contractual test, not a clinical one — it's reasonable to answer the clinical part of the question and note that the ultimate determination is a matter for the insurer based on the policy wording, rather than guessing at how your clinical answer maps onto contract language you haven't seen.

💰 Fees

There's no Medicare item for completing an insurance report — it's not a service for the treatment of a patient, so it's billed privately, and GST generally applies. The RACGP's guide suggests basing the fee on your usual per-hour consultation income applied to the time the report actually takes, rather than a flat fee that doesn't reflect a complex, multi-page request. Tell the patient (or their solicitor/adviser, if they're the one asking) the fee upfront, since it isn't something the insurer pays.

📝 A practical structure for the factual part of your report

A suggested skeleton to organise a response around — a drafting aid, not clinical content and not an official template. Fill in only what you can support from your own assessment and records, and always follow the specific insurer's own form/questions over this structure where they differ.

Patient: [name / DOB] Diagnosis(es): [as documented] Date first noted / became disabling: [date] Treatment to date: [medications, procedures, referrals, and the patient's response to each] Current functional limitations (observed / reported): [e.g. lifting, sitting/standing tolerance, concentration, fatigue — as relevant to the condition] Barriers to return to usual duties: [factual, condition-specific] Expected review / reassessment date: [date, or "ongoing management, next review on ___"] Note: whether the above meets the policy's definition of total and permanent disability (or the relevant incapacity test) is a matter for the insurer to determine against the policy wording — this report addresses the clinical questions only.

Before you send anything

Check consent and know where a dispute goes
✅Confirm the patient has actually authorised release of their information to this insurer for this purpose — most requests arrive with a signed authority attached, but check it covers what's being asked, not just that one exists. ✅If the claim is later disputed or declined, the patient's avenue is the Australian Financial Complaints Authority (AFCA) — the free external dispute resolution scheme for financial and insurance complaints — not a further report from you resolving the dispute itself. ✅Keep a copy of exactly what you sent and when — insurers sometimes come back with follow-up questions weeks or months later.

Common questions

Is this the same as the Centrelink Disability Support Pension?

No — a completely separate system. TPD and income protection are private commercial insurance products (often held inside super), assessed by an insurer against that policy's own definitions. The Disability Support Pension is a Centrelink payment with its own government forms (the SA478 Medical Evidence Checklist) and a Centrelink-arranged Job Capacity Assessment. See Centrelink Medical Certificates & Reports for that side — a patient dealing with a serious illness may genuinely be pursuing both at once, and they're independent processes with independent paperwork.

The patient says the website/lawyer told them they qualify — do I need to agree?

No. Your report should reflect your own clinical assessment and records, not a conclusion someone else has already reached. It's reasonable to explain to the patient that whether their situation meets the policy's definition is the insurer's determination, based on the whole file including your factual report — not something you're being asked to pre-confirm.

Do I have to use the insurer's own form?

Generally yes, if one is provided — insurers design their forms around their own policy wording and claims process, and using it avoids a back-and-forth for missing information. The structure above is for organising your thinking and drafting, not a replacement for the insurer's specific questions.

What if I genuinely don't know how the patient's function compares to "any occupation suited to their education and training"?

That's a fair position to take, and consistent with limiting your opinion to your scope of expertise — a GP can speak to functional limitations from a clinical standpoint, but assessing them against a specific patient's full work history and the labour market is often outside what a treating doctor can reasonably certify. Some claims involve a separate independent occupational/vocational assessment for exactly this reason; noting that this question is outside your assessment is a legitimate answer, not an unhelpful one.

You might also like